It has been travel-central lately with good friends departing in a few weeks for their 4-month global journey, and others moving on from one destination to another on their nomadic trip of a lifetime… and for us, it’s now just 3 months to go!

I had a goal to have all of our accommodation booked by the end of June, and whilst I’m not quite there yet, airbnb has definitely become my best friend and we have spent many many hours together. I have turned into somewhat of a hawk watching the currency exchange and perusing every hotel deal that drops into my inbox.

We have a budget – not quite backpacker rates but certainly not flashy hotel standards – and so research has become paramount in getting the best value for money. I’m picky about location and access to transport (it needs to be fairly central), about bed size (with a tall hubby I’m not willing to share a double bed for 8 weeks), and in some places where we’re staying for close to a week then facilities become more important too (like a kitchen/lounge).

The line-up so far:

1. RomeKing-size room in Rome between Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps | ITALY

2. Tuscany Tuscan farmhouse apartment with friends | ITALY

3. Cinque Terre Private room in the fishing village of Vernazza | ITALY

4. French Riviera Private room in a duplex apartment in Nice | FRANCE

5. Barcelona Split-level private studio apartment in La Barceloneta | SPAIN

6. Venice Still to book… Venice is doing my head in… seriously | ITALY

7. Switzerland Double room at a Swiss lodge in Engelberg | SWITZERLAND

8. Paris Still to book… I really don’t want to get it wrong in Paris. Looking near Le Marais | FRANCE
^Credit to Elana Germain Photography – I hope we can take amazing pics like these!

9. Scotland Still to book… Need to work in a day trip / overnighter to Highlands | SCOTLAND

10. Ireland Bagged a deal at Doubletree by Hilton Dublin, followed by Taste of Ireland Tour | IRELAND

11. England Staying with rellies in Halifax, but the search for London continues | ENGLAND

??????????????I guess home will feel like a destination in itself as we appreciate all that is AUSTRALIA!

