greensmoothies

I have a friend’s wedding in a month, my 10-year reunion in just over 7 weeks, and then we jet off to Europe for a much-needed holiday… cue wanting to look and feel good!

I’m not going to diet as such, but I am going to put in a concerted effort to hit the gym, cut the CRAP (Carbs/carbonated drinks, Refined sugar, Artificial anything, and Processed foods), and pay a little more attention to “me”.

Friends of mine have been chugging back “green smoothies” so I thought I would find out a little more on this craze. Simple Green Smoothies explains that Green Smoothies are a simple way to incorporate large amounts of greens into your diet”. I was dubious at first to jump on the bandwagon, until it hit me through a near-fainting episode at the gym that this would actually be very good for my iron levels. I know a lot of ladies out there are iron-deficient, whether they eat too little red-meat and leafy-greens, or like me just have trouble getting enough of it into our systems. Whilst iron tablets are super helpful, I also like the thought of assisting my body as much as possible in the most natural way.

Admittedly I was also worried that the green smoothie wouldn’t fill me up enough to be a meal replacement, however after making my first one at 7.30am, the hunger-bug only hit around 11.30am! I adjusted Simple Green Smoothies’ Strawberry Banana and Blueberry recipe to suit what I had in stock:

  • 1 cup baby spinach leaves
  • 1/3 cup water
  • Juice from 1 orange
  • 1 cup mixed froxen berries and fresh strawberries
  • 1 banana
  • 1 tablespoon protein powder
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 2 tablespoons linseed meal (flaxseed)

I was surprised that I couldn’t taste the spinach at all! The consistency was perfect for how I like smoothies – not too watery but also far from gluggy. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised and will try to incorporate green smoothies into my meal plans over the next month.

TIP: Add a few ice cubes after blending to keep cold!

strawberrybananablueberry_SGSWhat are your favourite green smoothie combos?

